January 5, 2019, Filed under Press Release

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan – International Master (IM) Ronald Dableo from Manila bagged the open division championship title while Chester Neil Reyes from Bugallon topped the kiddies’ category in the 10th Amado Espino Open Chess Championship held at the Wellness Center within Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) on December 29-30.


The open chess tourney is the culminating event of the four-month 8th Pangasinan Chess Festival.


Dableo was followed by IM Paulo Bersamina from Pasay City at second place. Dableo received a trophy and P25,000 while Bersamina took home trophy and P20,000. IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia, former champion, landed on the third rank, NM David Elorta occupied the fourth rank and FM Christopher Castellano settled for the fifth spot.


Apart from the trophies, 3rd to 5th rankers in the open category received P15,000, P10,000 and P8,000, respectively.


In the kiddie’s category,  another kid from Bugallon, Mark Gerald Reyes bagged second place followed by Paul Matthew Llanillo from Biñan, Laguna.


The top three kid woodpushers took home individual trophies and cash prizes of P10,000, P8,000, and P5,000, respectively.


Pangasinan Sports Development and Management Council (PSDMC) Executive Dir. Modesto M. Operania led the awarding rites.



Here is the complete list of winners – open division (according to rank):

  1. IM Ronald Dableo – Manila
  2. IM Paulo Bersamina – Pasay City
  3. IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia – Manila
  4. NM David Elorta – Makati
  5. FM Christopher Castellano – Rizal
  6. NM Emmanuel Emperado – Manila
  7. NM Giovanni Mejia – Pangasinan
  8. Roderick Nava – Cavite
  9. Kevin Mirano – Aklan
  10. IM Roel Abelgas – Dasmariñas
  11. Rodolfo Panopio, Jr. – Laguna
  12. IM Joel Pimentel – Bacolod City
  13. IM Barlo Nadera – Malabon City
  14. IM Angelo Young – Chicago, U.S.A.
  15. GM Darwin Laylo – Marikina City
  16. IM Mari Joseph Turqueza – Quezon City
  17. Alfredo Rapanot – Cabuyao City
  18. IM Ricardo De Guzman – Antipolo City
  19. Alexis Emil Maribao – Bulacan
  20. IM Oliver Dimakiling – Davao City
  21. NM Jerad Docena – Pasay City
  22. IM Daniel Quizon – Dasmariñas
  23. FM Nelson Mariano, III – Quezon City
  24. Robin Ignacio – Quezon City
  25. NM John Merill Jacutina – Quezon City.



For kiddie category, winners are, as follows (according to rank):

  1. Chester Neil Reyes – Bugallon
  2. Mark Gerald Reyes – Bugallon
  3. Paul Matthew Llanillo – Biñan, Laguna
  4. Justine Diego Mordido – Dasmariñas
  5. Haldrich Luke Cunanan – Taguig
  6. Luis Andrew Berdon – Lingayen
  7. Ruth Joy Vinuya – Quezon City
  8. Mhage Gerriahlou Sebastian – Apayao
  9. Angele Tenshi Biete – Las Piñas
  10. Jerome Adrian Aragones – Bacoor, Cavite
  11. Jerlyn Mae San Diego – Dasmariñas City
  12. Mark Jay Bacojo – Dasmariñas
  13. Jorge Delgado, Jr. – Dasmariñas
  14. Heart Padilla – Zambales
  15. Jeremy Marticio – Carmona, Cavite


Category prize for top senior went to Juan Caunte from Caloocan while Artemis Calix Calub from Urdaneta City was given a special prize under five years old and below; and Shiela Gene Paragas of Lingayen was cited as the youngest contestant.


In the opening ceremonies of the 10th Amado Espino Open Chess Championship held at the PESO Center within the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) on December 29, Governor Amado I. Espino, III has pledged to further support and expand chess clinics and chess tournaments under the Pangasinan Chess Festival in the province.


The provincial chief executive bared that expanding the usual two-day chess activities to three or more days to further accommodate the growing number of participants.


Governor Espino also commended chessers even from outside Pangasinan for their constant support to this sports development thrust of the provincial government aimed at honing young talents towards mastery in chess.


“Sana sa bawat pagbalik niyo rito ay may nakikilala rin kayong kaibigan,” he said noting that more than teaching theories and added skills, promoting friendship is one of the objectives of the chess tournament.


Governor Espino was joined by Asean Master Brylle Gever Vinluan ,8th Pangasinan Chess Championship – open category champion in leading the ceremonial move.



/Shiella Mae C. De Guzman

chess champion

IM DABLEO & P’SINAN CHESS WIZ WIN OPEN CHESSFEST. Open Division champion International Master (IM) Ronald Dableo from Manila (2nd from right) and Kiddie’s Division champion Chester Neil Reyes from Bugallon (2nd from left) receive a trophy and a cash prize each worth P25,000 and P10,000, respectively during the awarding rites of the 10th Gov. Amado Espino Open Chess Championship held at the Wellness Center within Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) on December 30. The awarding ceremony was led by Pangasinan Sports Development and Management Council Executive Officer Modesto M. Operania (right), representing Governor Amado I. Espino III, and Pangasinan Chess League President Juan Vicente R. Sison (left). /SMDG (EGaner)


Related Images:

We cannot display this gallery



Leave a Reply



Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives